learn about

London Dry Gin

London dry Gin is the world’s most popular Gin style. Despite its name, it's not always from London and can be made anywhere, so long as it contains only natural ingredients.

So what makes it “London”? It must be made from pure grain Spirit, with flavor introduced from natural botanicals through re-distillation. London Gin also mustn’t contain coloring or any added ingredients other than water.

Despite being the most common style of Gin around today, the flavors in this category vary wildly–from citrus notes to herbaceous styles and even spicy, peppery flavors in some. The terms London and Dry Gin can be used interchangeably and this is what you’ll find in your glass when ordering a Gin and tonic… well, basically anywhere in the world.

Try before you buy. Discover Gin flavors with themed Tasting Boxes. Turn yourself into a confident sipper, get exclusive tips of the trade, connect with a like-minded community and explore the contents of your Tasting Box with Flaviar-Exclusive guided tasting called Unboxing Flavors.

What is the difference between Gin and London Dry Gin?
London Dry Gin means there's no added (artificial) flavoring and sweeteners. The flavors are all natural from the botanicals, while regular distilled Gin can have any artificial or  non-artificial flavorings, essences and sweeteners added to it after the distillation process.
What are the different types of Gin? 
London Dry Gin, Plymouth Gin, Old Tom Gin, Genever or Dutch, New Western or new American or International style.
What is the difference between Vodka and Gin?
While Vodka is made from by distillation of potatoes, rye or wheat, Gin is made with the help of distillation of malt or grain and then mixed with the flavor of juniper berries. The main constituent of Vodka is water and ethanol while the central part of Gin is Juniper berries.
Smartass corner
London Dry Gin
Is Gin gluten free? Sort of. While Gin is made from a grain Spirit, which could include wheat, barley or even rye, some experts say that it’s still suitable for those on gluten-free diets due to being distilled. The distillation process removes enough of the gluten protein in the drink to make it gluten-free. But proceed with caution.
London Dry Gin
Few Gin distillers make their own alcohol. Gin usually starts with neutral Spirit: A commodity that distillers buy in bulk. It’s what the distiller does with this commodity in the flavor-infusing process that makes each Gin different.
London Dry Gin
Gin was so cheap and popular in London in the first half of the 18th century, an epidemic of drunkenness engulfed the city. There were 7,000 Gin shops by 1730 and wasted Londoners fell victim to acts of violence and widespread addiction. The government had to step in with an emergency legislation to stop the so-called "Gin Craze".
flaviar studios presents:
London Dry Gin Videos
How the Gin Craze Almost Destroyed London
How the Gin Craze Almost Destroyed London
A Brief History of Gin and Tonic
A Brief History of Gin and Tonic
A Brief History of Gunpowder Gin
A Brief History of Gunpowder Gin
A Brief History of Tom Collins
A Brief History of Tom Collins
Distillery tours
sip straight from the source
Visit London Dry Gin Distilleries

We pulled some strings and made it possible for you to see the backstage of certain distilleries, getting the VIP treatment & that is about enough of text.

Check all distilleries