Cognac is a type of Brandy, traditionally popular with royalty, statesmen, leaders, people with acquired taste in general and... well, hip-hop superstars too. It's a very specific type of Brandy, though. Most importantly, Cognac can only be produced in the Cognac region of France. It's produced by distilling wine from grapes called Ugni Blanc. This wine is very dry, acidic, and thin, but excellent for distillation and ageing.

After double distillation in a copper pot still, Cognac is aged in Limousine or Tronçais oak casks and usually blended before bottling.

There are six different wine-growing areas (called cru in French) authorised to produce Cognac; in descending order of prestige they are: Grande Champagne, Petite Champagne, Borderies, Fins Bois, Bons Bois and Bois Ordinaires. A blend of Grande and Petite Champagne Cognacs, with at least half coming from Grande Champagne, is known as Fine Champagne.

Depending on the age of the youngest Cognac in the blend, Cognac is categorized in three categories, defined by law: V.S., V.S.O.P., and X.O.

Read More >

Dog Dogson
Dog Dogson's
Laws concerning Cognac-making are strict as hell. Only three types of grapes may be used, and they can only be harvested in October; Cognac must be aged for at least two years in barrels made from French oak - and get this, from one of two specific forests! Then, the stills must be of a particular French shape (no, not the baguette shape); and we guess La Marseillaise has to be sung during the entire process.

Believe it or not, the French aren’t all that fond of Cognac. In fact, they export nearly 90% of their production.

Nine liters of white Wine must be distilled for a single liter of Cognac!

All Cognac

Camus XO Borderies
Hennessy Paradis
Louis Royer XO Cognac
Jean Marc XO Vodka
Louis XIII Cognac
Hennessy XO
Martell XO Cognac
Merlet VS Cognac