1. What does Gin taste like?Legally, to be called Gin, it has to have a predominant flavour of juniper berries. But other than that, pretty much anything goes when it comes to the taste of Gin. There are floral Gins, sweeter styles, citrus-heavy Gins, spiced Gins and more.
London Dry Gin, the most common style of Gin, is usually made with a grain spirit base, then various botanical flavours are added to create something unique. There are quite literally hundreds of styles around.
2. Is Gin good for you?
In this day and age, though, modern medicine has prevailed and antimalarial drugs are probably your best option for staying disease-free.
What’s more, juniper berries, one of the main ingredients in all forms of Gin, contain antioxidants, good for hair, skin and other lovely stuff. They can even help with cardiovascular health. Pour out a double!
3. Does Gin go off?In a nutshell, no. Providing it’s stored correctly (in a cool, dry place out of direct sunlight), Gin will keep indefinitely - whether it’s been opened or remains sealed. Once a Gin has been opened, it may be that the contents start to evaporate slowly, and flavour may be lost over time, but it’ll still be safe to drink.
Although in all honesty, if it doesn’t taste as it should, it’s probably best to chuck it anyway. Who wants to drink flavourless Gin?!
4. Why does Gin make me cry?It’s a common myth that Gin is a tear-jerker. Of course, drinking too much of it will make you feel awful the next day, but that’s the same with any alcohol. The truth is, according to science, the effects of ethanol (the main ingredient), are the same in whatever form they take.
It’s likely that this popular misconception stems from the UK’s ‘Gin craze’ of the late 1700s, where Gin joints were on every corner and the Government allowed unlicensed production, making it affordable to the masses. The spirit coined the nickname mother’s ruin for the debauchery caused.
It’s no wonder that Gin has a bad reputation, but it won’t make you more depressed, or more likely to cry than any other spirit.
5. Is Gin gluten-free?The short answer is: sort of.
The long answer is: While Gin is made from a grain spirit, which could include wheat, barley or even rye, some experts say that it’s still suitable for those on gluten-free diets due to being distilled. The distillation process removes enough of the gluten protein in the drink to make it gluten-free.
But proceed with caution - we don’t want to be responsible for any funny tummies. Look out for Gins made with different base spirits if you struggle with gluten. G-Vine Gin, for example, is made from grapes, not grain.
6. What does Gin go with?While the G&T is probably the most popular (and obvious) choice, Gin actually works incredibly well in a huge array of drinks due to the wide range of styles and flavours available.
Citrus-led and juniper-heavy styles are complemented extremely well by tea flavours such as Earl Grey. Try steeping Earl Grey tea bags in Gin for an hour before mixing with lemon juice and soda for a refreshing tipple.
Lavender and Cucumber are great for floral-led Gins, working well as syrups to accompany Gin and soda or tonic. Spiced Gins work well with ginger ale or orange.
7. Does Gin freeze?Ethanol, the alcohol found in Gin, has an extremely low melting point (that’s the temperature from which it goes from solid state to liquid), of -114ºC (-173ºF). So with the average Gin at 40% ABV, that brings the temperature up slightly, but still way below the standard home freezer temperature of -22ºC (-0ºF).
That means you can store Gin in the freezer without worrying it might explode (like sparkling wines or beer), and it’ll become thicker, almost viscous, and ice-cold. Perfect for Martinis.